top of page

The NEW Glossier Play: the good, the bad & the ugly Review

I’ve always been a Glossier & there are very few products that I haven’t tried. (Their perfume You is by far the number 1 product I get compliments on - scent stays on forever. Love the spray but do not love the solid version of it.)


Anyways, I had visiting friends in NYC this weekend and when they said Glossier was their must do, I was pumped. What a perfect time to take a few subway stops down to the Glossier Showroom right off Canal Street.


www.glossier.com


The place is pretty damn artsy. They seem to be constantly changing their displays. A few weeks ago you could take photos with giant Boy Brows. (Seen below) This showroom is just about brand spanking new. They redid it I would say in last 8 or 9 months. The last showroom was small and to the point but this one takes it to a whole new level.


(Disclaimer: this display is no longer there)


So my friends and I stunbled in after quite a boozy brunch and when I told my self that I will only be replenishing my products I was running out of it, I was lying.


My boyfriend got in line for us as we made our way there. (Also, first time I EVER had to wait in a line to get in - even on a weekend - maybe because of the new launch?)


Once I saw upclose the fun new Glossier Play options, I knew I needed them. I’m pretty simple with makeup nowadays so I like anything where I can add a single pop of color or glitter with just one tool. ( hint hint all of Glossier’s Lidstars)


So I went with the full Play set where I got to chose one color of each product and included all the tools for only 60 dollars which I thought was a steal. (Also bought their new Milky Oil Makeup Remover but haven’t tried yet - will report back)


Here are my choices:



In this kit you receive:

1) Vinylic Lip (mine in Pony) - a soft lipstick

2) Colorslide (mine in hardcore) - a velvet eyeliner

3) Glitter Gelee (mine in Bijoux) - a glitter eyeshadow

4)Niteshine (mine in Platinum Rose) - a highlighter

5) Detailer - a brush

6) Blade & cleaner - a sharpener & sharpener cleaner





First of all, packaging typical Glossier adorable with Just a pop of fun color. All the items came in the boxes and then in these cool holographic wrappings.





Here’s an overview of all the colors on my skin tone (I do have a final photo of my makeup done last night using 3 out of the 4 products)


Let’s start with my favorite out of all right off the bat - the Niteshine. Honestly goals. I’ve used every eyelighter under the sun from Kylie Cosmetics to Fenty to Covergirl and more. This one was different right off the bat. The glow is strong as you can see and adds a subtle color as well as the shine. They have four different options but this one seemed best for my skintone. I also normally do not like liquid highlighter because I feel it always disrupts my makeup but this one just slid right on top!


Next is Colorslide. So years and years ago, little 9th grade me used to wear a turquoise eyeliner ALL THE TIME. It was Sephora brand, nothing special but I always found it so fun. It wasn’t in at the time but now it’s making a comeback. In this velvet formula I got the same concept, but a little more adult. A turquoise with a bit of a darker undertone. Enough color but not too much. It slides on effortlessly and let me tell you IT STAYS. I legitimately had to SCRUB that swatch off my hand. It did spread a little last night in between going to dinner and then going out for drinks which is my only downfall. Otherwise, goals.


Next is the lipstick - Vinylic Lip. I have to say I’m surprised with what color I ended up with. I wanted a more dusty rose color but right away the Glossier Sales girl recommended this one. I tried it and was hooked. Something about it gives enough color but nothing too dramatic. It is done with a foam applicator tip and you click it like a mechanical pencil to get the color to come out but I do feel like you need a lot of product to get enough pigment.

It didn’t dry out my lips and definitely had a good amount of staying power.


Lastly is the only product I truly did not wear out - the Glitter Gelee. Last night I just wanted to focus on the eyeliner and not give the glitter a shot yet. Right off the bat, it’s stunning and gives big thick pieces of glitter which is very different from what’s out currently (fine, grainy & tightly packed) . It glides on gorgeously when I swatched it on my hand and really feels like jelly without looking like it.


Here’s my favorite part: the tools. This was completely worth me doing the make your own set option. Not that I particularly needed them but it was nice to get them “free” alongside.


So you receive a sharpener, a sharpener cleaner and a brush. (Not sure which product the brush is truly made for yet)



Here is my final look last night using legitimately only Glossier products and all products shown above except the Glitter Gelee.


Excuse my nose that doesn’t match my face - I broke it this week and it obviously hurts too much to apply makeup over.


Anyways- I applied the eyeliner quickly but the color is amazing. The highlighter literally evens out my skin in that area and highlights. & the lip color went perfectly with my outfit.


10/10 would recommend this whole line.

(will update when I fully try the Glitter Gelee)


The line is fun and playful with some many pops of color! We’ll be great to play around with this upcoming spring and summer!


GUEST APPEARANCE:

if you are a true Glossier fan and follow Glossier boyfriends - you may have seen this sweet man of mine shared on their story yesterday!

(Yes, he does always hold my makeup. 😂 This was his first time to the showroom & no lie, he thought it was pretty neat.)




bottom of page