top of page

April’s Best & Worst Beauty Products

Hi all!! I literally buy new beauty products everyday (if you haven’t noticed yet.) With that being said, I’ve decided to just do one big post per month of all of the good, the bad and the ugly of the every item I pick up. Now, I will still post mini reviews of products on my stories as I always do but this will be more in depth. It will not be EVERY SINGLE item, but just the ones that REALLY stood out and the ones that REALLY flopped. If there’s something I put on my story and not here - go ahead and let me know! I’ll gladly add it in!



(Above - Wander Baggage Claim 24k Eye Mask, #12 on the BEST list)


So now, let’s begin.


The BEST:



1) Sephora Masque in Banana ($7 @ Sephora)

What it is: Just a simple nourishing face masque in a strong banana texture and smell! Easily, the best thing I bought this month. Both Matt and I tried it and instantly saw results!

The Good: It definitely reduced more pores within minutes. It felt good on and had a super thick and creamy texture! Also, for that price tag you get 5 uses, totally worth it just to pick up when you run in!

The Bad: SUPER STRONG BANANA SMELL - do NOT use if you hate bananas. For me, this was a plus but Matt was super grossed out about it and if you’re not a fan, you will not be able to handle this.

The Ugly: It really just looks like you smashed bananas all over your face - LOL




2) The Ordinary AHA 30% + BHA 2% Peeling Solution ($7.20 @ Sephora)

What it is: an exploitation solution with AHA & BHA and “peeling” properties !

The Good: My skin definitely brightened after one use and person, I like the tingling feeling it provided! The skin felt super super firm!

The Bad: The tingle can get a little intense! Also, online only at Sephora which drives me insane!

The Ugly: 100% makes you look like your face is bleeding - Matt was a little confused when I walked out of the bathroom before I explained !!




3) Dior Airflash Spray Foundation ($62 @ Sephora)

What it is: Foundation that comes in a spray bottle formula

The Good: MY NEW FAVORITE. So I always love getting airbrushed professional makeup for big events & weddings so I wanted to try this because it seemed like the next best thing. Let me be honest, it matched my skin perfectly, is super blend-able & can be worn super light or built for better coverage!

The Bad: It can be a little intimidating at first honest because it shoots out pretty strong until you get used to it and figure out just how far from your face you need to be!

The Ugly: I’m always nervous about getting it in my hair because it just makes a general circle in one area! They do sell a brush to blend it out but I use my Beauty Blender and it makes it really easy to spread!



4) Vanity Planet Groove Rejuvenating Scalp Massager ($16 @ Free People)

What it is: a battery operated scalp massager for both wet & dry hair use

The Good: My hair has actually grown since I started using this - which was my goal! Scalp stimulation is one of the best ways to grow your hair and let me tell you, this product is a cheap wonder !!!

The Bad: I don’t really enjoy that it is battery powered because I will definitely get lazy and forget to change them once they die!

The Ugly: I tried to use it both during shampoo and conditioner but the vibration is so strong that it hurts after awhile!



5) Drunk Elephant Slaaai Makeup Melting Butter Cleanser ($34 @ Sephora)

What it is: makeup remover essentially that turns into a make your own exfoliate

The Good: The product on its own is creamy and feels great on the skin. It removes most of the left over makeup I still have sitting on my face. BUT the best part, is the little jar of exfoliate they give you to mix it, and then this product becomes flawless.

The Bad: To be honest, I do not have a bad thing to say.

The Ugly: I mean the white thick cream isn’t the most flattering visual LOL




6) Olaplex No.6 Bond Smoother Reparative Styling Creme ($28 @ Sephora)

What is it: a leave in conditioner like product with Olaplex’s ridiculously strong formula

The Good: I have to be honest, I stan Olaplex anything right now after trying their “hair protector.” That did WONDERS (see blog post here) And to be honest, this is just as good. Not sure, if I ‘ll ever stop using it. My hair was instantly looks and feels better.

The Bad: It’s a pretty small bottle. I mean it was only $28 dollars but I was just surprised when I got it in the mail.

The Ugly: A mediocre smell but that’s about it.





7) L’Oréal Elvive Rapid Reviver Deep Conditioner ($6 @ drugstores)

What it is: A strong deep conditioner you can use daily in place of your regular conditioner

The Good: I actually found this from another blogger and figured for the price tag it was worth a shot. I have to say, it does pretty well. I use it now everyday in place of my regular conditioner and I see the difference in my hair (in a bad way) when I don’t use it!

The Bad: It’s a drugstore product and sometimes they do get a bad rep.

The Ugly: It’s price varies across drugstores and seeing that I paid the most at Rite Aid is annoying - LOL



8) Tan-Luxe THE FACE Illuminating Self-Tan Drops ($49 @ Sephora)

What it is: self tanner for your face alone but with anti aging properties and preventive add one

The Good: It works. What’s better than that? I mix it with my sunscreen every other morning and it blends well, provides natural color and makes me skin feel good. Wouldn’t stray away from this product!

The Bad: The Formula is a little slimy

The Ugly: Don’t love the smell but it doesn’t last long and you can’t smell it on your face.




9) Supergoop! Shimmershade Illuminating Cream Eyeshadow SPF 30 ($24 @ Sephora)

What it is: eyeshadow with SPF for those summer beach days (or you know just everyday) I bought sunset.

The Good: I have the brown one and I use it everyday. I apply in just seconds with my fingertips and it looks great and like I put it a lot of work PLUS it protects my eyelids. Going to go out and buy all the other colors !

The Bad: It doesn’t have intense staying power sadly but makes it a good 6ish hours not moving.

The Ugly: Not a thing because it brings my blue eyes out AMAZINGLY !



10) Farsali Rose Gold Elixir - 24K Gold Infused Beauty Oil (Mini size $22 @ Sephora)

What it is: a serum moisturizer type product with flecks of gold in it

The Good: I mean my skin SHINES when I put it on. It’s a smooth serum and sometimes I mix it with my tanning oil for a flawless finish!

The Bad: It’s a little pricey, I mean I only got the mini and it was in the $20s

The Ugly: the smell is a little funky but nothing awful!



11) St. Tropez Gradual Tan Watermelon Infusion Body Lotion ($25 @ Sephora)

What it is: a gradual self tanner that smells LIKE WATERMELON

The Good: I’ll try any self tanner without the awful self tanner smell - I mean, the one I used to use reeked for days. But this has a beautiful watermelon non synthetic smell and it works too!!! It seamlessly transitioned me from the hardcore self tanner I was using! It’s not streaky and my hands aren’t as blotchy as normal!

The Bad: It’s not as darker as a hoped for but it is just a gradual self tanner

The Ugly: Like I said with bananas, if you hate watermelon, this is not for you.



12) Wander Beauty Baggage Claim Gold Eye Masks ($25 @ Sephora)

What it is: Gold under eye masks !

The Good: First of all, LOOK AT THEM. I was shocked when I took them out of the package. They’re so pretty! And looked even prettier on my face! Just alone on that I would recommend them! They feel super luxurious! Also, my under eye area was glowing after I took them off so you tell me.

The Bad: One time use products are normally not my forte because I’m always to lazy to stock up and then use once and move on

The Ugly: Have you seen the masks ? Nothing ugly here.


The WORST:



1) Winky Lux Glitter Balm in Confetti ($14 @ Sephora)

What it is: a fun lipstick that is supposed to form to your PH and give you that perfect color

The Good: Ok, it’s damn cute. It has confetti in it: how could you not want it ?

The Bad: THE TASTE. You know no matter what you always get a little lipstick on your mouth just by licking your lips or drinking from a straw or whatever. It literally is disgusting and leaves my mouth feeling awful even at the smallest slip.

The Ugly: DOES NOTHING. Wish they had testers in stores because I would not have bought this.




2) Fenty Body Lava Body Luminizer ($59 @ Sephora)

What it is: a sparkly glowing moisturizer (bought in Brown Sugar)

The Good: I wanted to love this, I even bought the darkest color for those post beach days out to dinner tan glow.... that’s the only good, that I wanted it.

The Bad: where to begin? Smell is awful, application is awful and gives me no glow whatsoever. Disappointed, Riri.

The Ugly: a little does NOT go along way. I have to use like half the bottle to get it to spread and if not it’s sticky and tough. 100% would not recommend and now sadly it’s just sitting on my dresser collecting dust.



And that’s all for this month.

Anything I missed? Let me know!!!

bottom of page