top of page

May Beauty Hits & Misses



Last month for me was all about designer makeup brands like Marc Jacobs, YSL and Chanel as well as a few beauty supplements I gave a shot to make my insides as pretty as my outsides.


Hits

Nars Powermatte Lip Pigment - American Woman -$26 - Sephora


So let's start with my favorite category - LIP PRODUCTS.

Details: The name says it all: Powermatte. It provides a heck of lot of color while being flawlessly matte. I used some of my Beauty Insider points to redeem this one but 100% would go back and buy the full size. It's super buildable too which I love.

Pros: Really rich in color as well as not making my lips feel dry - a total win.

Cons: I love the formula but I'm not sure this is the most universal color for all skin tones and that's the only downfall.


Charlotte Tilbury Hollywood Contour Wand - Fair/Medium - $38 - Sephora


Details: A squeeze bottle formula with a foam brush at the end to create a seamless contour.

Pros: I personally love the color and it gives me that dramatic but subtle contour everyone dreams of. Some are too dark, some too light but this color is killer.

Cons: You REALLY have to blend it. I wouldn't consider this a product for beginners.



Matrix Biolage All-In-One Coconut Infusion Multi-Benefit Spray - $20 - Ulta


Details: So I picked this up in the baby size (which is now what I use for travel) originally because I'm not the biggest Biolage fan but will also buy anything with a coconut on it. (Oops) It's - in my opinion- a leave in conditioner like product because who really knows what multi-benefit spray is?

Pro: Has a coconut on the bottle - LOL JK. Kind of. Anyways, I think it gives my hair a little more life and especially a little more "oomph" on days when I let it air dry. Plus, it smells good. Totally bought the full size version after trying.

Cons: You have to use a decent amount to really have it work which buying repeatedly could get annoying.



YSL Mascara Vinyl Couture - I’m the Excitement Green - $29 - yslbeautyus.com


Details: Yes, it's green and yes, it's the silliest beauty product I own. Who really needs designer green mascara? Guilty. It's exactly what it looks like - emerald mascara.

Pros: Besides the color, the formula in general really really does lift my eyelashes and the color is a fun switch up for the summer. Even better, when you order this product from YSL directly - free engraving. (See photo of my initials) Now could mascara be any prettier?

Cons: I won't lie - it does run a bit. Would not recommend for a day outdoors because you'll look like the green eyed monster.



Tarte Shape Tape Contour Concealer - $27 - Ulta


Details: Did you know Shape Tape is exclusive to Ulta? I had no idea. I FINALLY tried this cult classic (I'm behind on this one because I'm not the biggest Tarte Fan - sorry) but after a long search for the perfect concealer, this had the biggest recommendation.

Pros: Amazing. Needless to say. But I think everyone already knew that.

Cons: YOU HAVE TO SET IT. It gets very very tacky if you don't.



Sunday Riley Auto Correct Brightening and Depuffing Eye Contour Cream - $65 - sundayriley.com


Details: So originally got this in my Birchbox and then ended up Sunday Riley's Subscription box - travel edition and got the full size. I don't think I'd go without it now. It's an under eye cream that does honestly everything you've ever needed an under eye cream to do.

Pros: it works, simple as that. My under eye looks so good after this that it brightens my entire face.

Cons: No smell which for me is a con but that's a personal opinion.



Chanel Les Beiges Water-Fresh Tint - $65 - Chanel Counter @ Macy's


Details: Let me tell you, I've never been so sucked into a product before. I saw an ad and was already thinking what I should return to buy this so I didn't feel as guilty at the price tag. So it's somewhere In between foundation and a tinted moisturizer. The woman at the counter said it could be used above, between or under makeup but I chose it as a light everyday skin pick me up. It has this super cool formula of tiny balls suspended in a liquid base that break as you rub over your skin. Yeah. It's cool.

Pros: I mean I looked like all this girls in music videos who freshly step out of pool and their skin is glowing and dripping wet. No lie. Picture proof below.

Cons: It's expensive.



I Dew Care Mini Scoops Trio - $20 - Ulta


Details: I'm always one to start with a trial size or sample set before dropping money on a full size because I either don't love it or get bored by the time it runs out. I've been using I Dew Care for awhile now and figured instead of buying the 3 full size versions I'd try this fun set. I rotate masks pretty frequently (except Summer Friday's Overtime, that is) so I was trying to keep it small. The 3 are based on ice cream flavors which is pretty damn cute. There is a cake one and a matcha one which are both super amazing. I will be honest, have not tried the Strawberry one yet but worth it alone just for the other too.

Pros: SMELL AMAZING. That's what originally sold me.

Cons: They are tiny but you get what you pay for.


Marc Jacobs Dew Coconut Highlighter Drops - $45 -Sephora


Details: So I'm low key bored of powder highlighter so I wanted to try something new ( I'm obsessed with MJ's coconut line anyways). The girl at Sephora 100% recommended these and they did not disappoint. The color is glowy and liquid and shiny and ugh, just beautiful.

Pros: MEGA glow. Truly Dewy.

Cons: I'm not sure how these would look on pale skin tones, think it's a little too dark and definitely look better when I have a slight tan.



Sunday Riley Good Genes Lactic Acid - $158 - sundayriley.com


Details: Once again, got this in my Sunday Riley Box mentioned above. It's your typical lactic acid if you're looking for a product in that department that actually works.

Pros: My skin feels smooth the second I put it on.

Cons: once again, no smell but for most of you, that's a plus.



YSL Volupté Plump In Color Plumping Lip Balm - $39 - Sephora


Details: So you can't help but look at these when you pass by them in on a shelf. I mean the heart in the middle of that stunning gold packaging? Not a want, but a need. It's a plumping lipstick so has that typical tingle feel and that full lip effect.

Pros: The formula just makes you feel rich applying it, no joke.

Cons: Another YSL pricey tag.



Wanderer Mile High Club Mascara - $26 - Sephora


Details: A simple mascara in pretty gold packaging that has a strong hold and a great lift.

Pros: No smudge. To be honest, I already have big eyelashes so all I look for is a no run formula and this is IT.

Cons: It's not going to pull your lashes to your eyebrows but it does a good job.



Herbivore Jade Facial Roller - $30 - Sephora


Details: Can I just say this is one of the most things I ever bought? I know, I know - everyone thinks they're dumb. So all you do is take this glorious little roller across your skin - and ta-da, you're beautiful. Ok not really, but you feel beautiful. So it's supposed to smooth your skin and give you some healing power through the jade but mainly, it deepens the products into my skin which is enough for me.

Pros: It makes me feel good. That's the secret to why I use it. It relaxes the heck out of me. I feel like it's my own mini spa treatment. I don't know if it has miracle effects but it's great for my mental state.

Cons: If you don't want to spend 40 bucks on your mental state, don't bother.



Beauty Rx Solar Defense Sheer Sunscreen SPF 50 - $42 - beautyrx.com


Details: Sunscreen with a high SPF? Count me in. We all love a good tan but we don't all love a good skin cancer. I swapped for this one from my Drunk Elephant one and I'm never looking back. Did I mention it smells good ?

Pros: Let me be honest with you - I burnt my entire body this weekend. But guess what didn't burn? My face. Yeah, THAT impressive. Used the same number and applied the same amount of times JUST DIFFERENT brands - looks my face is safe with this one!

Cons: it's a little sticky - but what SPF isn't?



Misses

Ouai Wave Spray - $26 - Sephora


Details: I tried this product when it first came out - when my hair was at its worst. I figured it's always recommended so now with my healthy hair I'd give it another go. Yup, still hate it. It's a wave spray. It's salt in a bottle. Beach waves just means dirty hair.

Pros: The bottle will look nice On your shelf.

Cons: My hair has never felt worse.




Briogeo B.Well Organic + Cold Pressed 100% Castor Oil - $26 - Sephora


Details: Castor oil is supposed to do a multitude of things which is why I bought this. (Also, will purchase anything with "cold pressed" in the title) I'm not fully rejecting this one - honestly makes my cuticles looks flawless but it is sticky and goopy and kind of gross.

Pros: Cold Pressed ?

Cons: Literally don't think it did anything but help my cuticles......



Hum Beauty Zzzz Beauty Supplement - $10 - Sephora


Details: ALSO, got this in my Sunday Riley Box. So let's start by saying NONE of these products work for me- I'm also on a prescription sleep medication (Ambien is my savior) so I'm not sure if I'm the best candidate. But don't worry, I made Matt try it too for results. It's a supplement to melatonin technically.

Pros: For me, none. For Matt, none.

Cons: They did nothing for either of us to be blunt. I didn't take an Ambien because I didn't want to mix and I did not feel tired OR sleep through the night. For Matt, same results. I was so excited to try my first Hum product and honestly won't be trying one again.



Ouai Hair & Body Shine Mist - $32 - Sephora


Details: A shine mist thing? I don’t know. Something to make you glow or glittery? The package was pretty, I was seeing everywhere and it smelt familiar.

Pros: The smell. Lowkey smelt like a memory to me and I had to have it.

Cons: Did nothing. Like no joke, not a thing.



ABH Dewy Set Setting Spray - $26 - Sephora


Details: A dewy setting spray in glittery packaging. What’s not to love?

Pros: The packaging. I mean that glitter, like WOW.

Cons: It was so sticky and did not do anything life changing.



Four Sigmatic Mushroom Lemonade - $30 - Sephora


Details: A powder mix to detox your stomach and keep your insides as pretty as your out.

Pros: Great concept.

Cons: Awful execution. It was awful, and I mean awful. It was messy and black and stained everything. Returned in seriously 2 days. Also, gave me a stomachache instead of taking them away.



Milk Makeup Kush Waterproof Mascara - $24 - Sephora


Details: A waterproof mascara made with miracle kush products to build your lashes up and hold the product on.

Pros: The girl at Sephora hyped this - hard. I was pumped. Milk has such a good rep I expected nothing less. Look at that shiny blue.

Cons: It melted right off my lashes and within an hour - raccoon eyes.



Fresh Sugar Lip Wonder Drops - $26 - Sephora

Details: An oil to use on and around your lips to enhance them and smooth out your lipstick application.

Pros: They seem to work at first and my lipstick probably does set a little nicer.

Cons: Not long after, my lips are dry and chapped. Not sure what happened but it just kept happening !!


BONUS: These were a last minute addition but I’m so obsessed I have to share! So first is the tin: which is a vintage classic brought back for this generation - comes in the most fun flavors like Cotton Candy and Coconut! I like the tin but I‘M IN LOVE with the rollerball! Another play on a classic from years ago but it smells amazing, Also comes in a million flavors and IS THE BEST GLOSS EVER! No joke: whenever I where them - people are shocked when I tell them about the under 10 dollar price tag! So they’re sold at select Hallmark stores & Paper Stores But I’m going to link their website because it’s probably the best place to get them! ( Tintecosmetics.com )



As always, I try to take everyone’s thoughts and considerations into my blog posts so if there’s something you asked to be review and I didn’t mention it, reach out! I’ll 100% add it !!!

Also, I did leave out two other products I tried this month because I already have a whole post about them separately which you can find linked down below! (The BeautyRx x Dr Schultz Line)


bottom of page