top of page

Kristin Ess's New Signature Hair Gloss!


Sorry for sharing the results first - couldn't help myself!

Your new #hairgoals begin here!


So I've used a couple Kristin Ess products before but nothing I fell truly in love with! (I'm pretty loyal to Wella & IGK, to be honest.) But I do follow her on instagram.


If you don't know who she is, she's a celebrity hairstyle who found the large need for luxury hair products at a not so luxury price. (Every girl's dream clearly) I'm not sure how long her products have been at Target but I discovered them almost a year and a half ago and I'm pretty up to date on new products there.


If you follow her on Instagram, you've 100% seen the hype about these new collection of glosses that just dropped!!


It promised to revive the color, eliminate any brass, and just all over brighten your hair to where it should be!


I looked at picture after picture of before/afters and couldn't believe the results!


I figured with a $14 price tag and in between dying, I wouldn't hurt to give it a shot.


Kristin Ess's Signature Hair Gloss in Winter Wheat

So if you haven't see it yet, it comes in a box much like any other hair dye. You can also find it in the hair dye section instead of where the section of her styling products actually is. This product and her line is sold exclusively at Target (super convenient) Even when purchasing off her website, it takes you to Target's site to actually purchase.


Anyways, there aren't too many shades available, only about 8. I chose Winter Wheat because it seemed closest to my hair currently. I'm working on nursing it back to health after many years of obsessively bleaching it. My hairstylist (shoutout to Morgan, the best ever) and I have stopped fully bleaching it and letting the roots grow in and blend. I've gotten so many positive reactions since ditching the whole head of Barbie blonde!



My Sunday Afternoon Shower Routine

So how Sunday afternoon, I was finally ready to give this a shot.


The steps seemed simple. (Keep in mind I've dyed my hair by myself before so I don't think it's difficult but definitely is easy enough for people who have never done their hair themselves)


So step one told you to put on gloves pre getting in the shower. Common Sense. Then to wet your hair and remove any excess water. Next step take bottle two and pour it into bottle one. Shake it thoroughly. The bottle you'll be using has the nozzle on top so it makes this process pretty easy. Take bottle one (the now mix) and pour it all over your hair. I started with scalp and let it slide down trying to get every inch including the ends. I don't have long hair but still ending up using the whole bottle. I would recommend using two kits for exceptionally long hair!

The next part includes twenty minutes of waiting and singing in the shower. (The second part is pretty much mandatory.)


After that, shampoo and condition as normal. From there, I used all my regular products and did the half blow dry/ half air dry I normally and lazily pull off.


So here is a before - I know it's not the same exact spot but it is the same lighting from only two days prior! (Sorry completely forgot about a before pic - worst blogger ever)

PRE GLOSS: Two days prior, same lighting, same products, same styling, no filter, etc

POST GLOSS: two days later, same lighting, same products, same styling, no filter, etc

Like they say, a picture says a thousand words and I think that's more than clear here!

I mean look at the depth and color it brought back to my hair! My hairstylist saw it an hour after and couldn't believe the results!!


I think it did everything I hoped it would and way surpassed it's $14 dollar price tag!

So next time you're in Target, I suggest picking up a box just to test out and see!


Disclaimer: Not sure how long this effect is supposed to last but will keep you all updated!!


XO & Mimosas,

Steff in the City

bottom of page