top of page

Eataly’s Ever Changing Rooftop Restaurant!


As always, my boyfriend is amazing and as I saw the pictures of Eataly’s spring time changes of their rooftop restaurant, he mentioned he already made us reservations. *swoon*


He could only get a 9:30pm time on a Thursday but that gave me time to go to the gym and get ready. No complaints here.


Keep in mind we went during Restaurant Fest so reservations we’re a little harder to get but it’s never an easy place to get a reservation no matter what.



Anyways, we got there about an hour early for drinks and it was packed - as expected. We were able to snag a table right away - Thank God - and began drinking. Matt always sticks with a basic Marg but I have to try these spritzes that we’re a focal point on the cocktail menu.




The first one I tried was the Spritz Rosa (picture of it in top image) It was delicious and I’m normally not into cocktails !! It was light and a perfect spring time cocktail!


I then of course had to try the main one on the menu - the Aperol Spritz! There was a whole wall mural about it.... and it was AWFUL! I mean It even came in a special glass with the name on it and a paper (yes) straw that had the drink name on it! All this hype and I hated it. It was just sort of spur. No lie though, everyone was ordering them.


Also you’ll see on the cocktails they all mention “Farm One.” I only understand a little of what that means but I know its a “farm” right in Manhattan that grows microgreens and such upwards due to lack of space in NYC! I know the rooftop restaurant has been using them exclusively for awhile !! Definitely support this effort.


We got a table about 20 minutes earlier than expected which was great! The restaurant fest menu has 3 appetizer options and 3 entree options (this ends tomorrow by the way) as opposed to the regular menu! It was a super good deal for $28 dollars a person! Also, on this menu they had $25 dollar bottle of wines which is right up Matt and I’s alley. (We ALWAYS get an entire bottle of wine - we are those people)


Anyways, everything we ordered off the special menu is also on their regular menu so I’m going to go off that. Let’s begin


Appetizers


So Matt And I got the bruschetta and the Buffalo mozzarella. The bruschetta was SPICY. BUT DELICIOUS. Neither one of us were expecting a kick but looking at it now we should have known considering the menu mentioned Chile. The mozzarella though was out of this world. Even the couple next to us lined over just to tell us we needed the mozzarella. It was so so soft and buttery. TO DIE FOR. Below are the two menu items exactly.







You’ll see also above is THE BEST CHEESE PLATE I HAVE EVER HAD. And I order cheese everywhere. We ordered all 5 (but you can order just 3) of their spring cheeses. Honestly every one was better than the next.


I cannot tell you which was which but this is definitely need a cheese plate where you need to order all 5. I literally could not pick a favorite.


Next is entrees. Matt and I both got the same thing which we rarely do and to be honest, I’ve been to this restaurant 3 times and I’ve order a variation of gnocchi every single time.






So I know green balls doesn’t look like the most appetizing option but they were so soft and well made. They just melted in your mouth. 10/10 from me! (Matt agrees)




Lastly is dessert. Matt is just a cappuccino guy (all he ever gets) but I saw Panna Cotta on the menu and needed it. (One of my all time favorites and have found many places ruin it)



So I pulled all The fruit off it because I wasn’t in the mood for it but THAT GOODNESS UNDERNEATH - WOW. Matt and I easily agreed it was one of the best we ever had. At the bottom was this fruit Gelee and ever that was good. (Normally that grossed me out a little) but couldn’t get enough.


So overall the food was amazing. Service was better than last time. (We went in the winter and service was awful + Matt found gross things floating in our bottled water....) It wasn’t exceptional service but it was good.


Ready for our big complaint ? (Same complaint we had in the winter as well)


THE MUSIC.

This is supposed to be the italian countryside and we’re bumping 2000s rap? No thanks. It really kills the vibe and it’s the first thing we noticed. It’s all the first thing we tell everyone. That’s HOW MUCH it bothers us. It doesn’t fit the scene and the decor is so heavy that you think they’d try to immerse you 100%, but no.


Otherwise, we recommend. It’s open just for the spring so make your reservations soon!

Its full name is Serra by Bierra at Eataly (their 14th floor - you go in through the store)


PS you don’t need reservations to go the bar so if you want to go just to see it, you totally can!


Below are a few more photos for a better look!










bottom of page