top of page

The RealReal Scoop: & Why You Should Try It

Ok, so who doesn’t love designer items?

(If you hate them, just disregard this post already. LOL)


Ok, so now who doesn’t love designer items at like an unbelievably cheaper price?

(If you hate them at unbelievably cheaper prices, just disregard this whole blog already. LOL)


The RealReal combines these two wonderful ideas. Of course there‘s a catch: they are preused or to put in an adorable way: preloved.


It‘s a consignment shop that eliminates all that digging through racks, rummaging through stores, etc. Because it’s online, you can easily just scroll up to the top and put in exactly what item/brand you’re looking for and ta da - cheaper designer goods. Now I’m sure you’re thinking: how do I know the item‘s condition if I’m just scrolling online. There’s two ways: 1) the picture they show is the EXACT item you’re ordering. It’s not a stock photo or a photo from years ago when it lived in better days. 2) It straight up tells you. Their “experts” will use terms like pretty good or ok or etc and will tell you exactly where and what is wrong with it. Genius. Takes all that guess work out of it.


So instead of me just explaining using terms and words: I took one for the team and went for it. (Granted I was in the market for new sunglases and only went to the 80% off section to give it a test)


PSA: don’t mind the “sold add to waitlist at the bottom” - I took these pics post ordering and receiving.



So here they are: a pair of adorable Ferragamo sunglasses FOR 75 DOLLARS. (On top of that they were another percentage off)


simple, classic, trendy pair that look on brand and not some weird one time collection piece.


right away, I had to have them.



As you see the condition is listed, which I love.

(these were not returnable because they were final sale due to the discount - otherwise, you can normally return)


Now a pair normally goes for about $300 - $400’dollars. These came to a whooping (check that below !!!)


Could you believe it ?!?


so now here’s the fun part (And the worst part) of the whole experience.


Actually getting the sunglasses. I see the RealReal truck everyday at the train station because their main warehouse is in Secaucus but it still took TWO WEEKS TO RECEIVE THEM? Slow shipping is one of my biggest pet peeves. (Still Shout Out to Urban Outfitters for having the quickest shipping - ever)


So besides that being awful here’s the moment

we’ve all been waiting for! The actual product !




They looked great right off the bat! Honestly one scratch on the lens which is more than unnoticeable!!


Below is Me actually in them! I don’t love them but I like them! A little too much for my face shape but that’s the chance you take with online ordering! Otherwise, the item was essentially flawless and certified Real.


I highly recommend. There is a physical location in NYC I am dying to try so I think that’s my next step. (Will keep you all updated)


Steff’s Pros, Cons & Tips:

pro: GOOD Prices, reliable, shows you quality

con: obviously not as much selection as buying full price at the store, shipping was way too long, we’re still preused

tips: don’t just look at everything - narrow it down to things you’d really like to splurge on and brands. Otherwise you’ll be overwhelmed and buy things You don’t need because they are on a good sale(my weakness) Use their App instead of their website (So much easier) & keep track of their sales, the sales are REALLY WORTH IT!!!



bottom of page